Free HPFF Decals for Helping out!
Hipoint Firearms Forums > Archive > 2010 > best red dot for the money

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2010, 12:45 AM   #1
foth12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default best red dot for the money

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum. I'm picking up my 9mm carbine next week and just wondering what red dot sight everyone is using. I had an old carbine and loved it(should never have gotten rid of it) so I'm very excited to pick up the new one. I want a red dot but don't want to spend a bunch of money yet want a good one.

Thank you.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2010, 01:06 AM   #2
ajole
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 3111 Times on 2230 Posts
Likes Given: 2912

Default Re: best red dot for the money

There are about 5-6 (or 20) at the under $50 range, and all are decent enough for under 100 yard shooting...IMHO. There are some in the sub $125 range, that might be better...but I have no experience with them, and haven't heard anything about them either. The really expensive stuff, like the Trijicon, Aimpoint, Eotec, or whatever...they are crazy good, I've shot a few of them, and they are worth every penny if you want to shoot a "red dot" out to 300+ yards, or deal with multiple zombies in rapid fire sequences...but might be a bit much to throw on a 9mm rifle with 10 round mags... :devilsidesmile:

I personally like my Sightmark Holo sight, $39, very light, small, and works fine so far. Also have a Barska, a TruGlo, and a BSA, and a Tasco. All work fine, many look like they were made in the same factory in China. Most came on a gun I bought, but I see them at $39 and down, usually.

He who smiles last....

......................thinks slowest.

Q

Not anything to do with me,...but SWAGA referred me to it...and it is pretty funny: The Ballad of Ajole
17 HP's and counting.

Old 06-05-2010, 01:56 AM   #3
dahed

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts