Chosing a handgun, my experiences

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by JonB, Nov 13, 2007.

1. JonB

JonB Guest

Warning: LONG post.

I'm really new to shooting, so I ask a lot of questions on this forum. Maybe someday I'll have a little more wisdom to add, but until then, one of the only things I can offer is the experience of a relatively new person going through the process of choosing a first and second handgun.

After some thought, the first gun I bought was a Hi-Point 9mm. Some people here in the forum helped me with my decision. I am glad that I bought the Hi-Point because the price tag was right, and it got me into shooting, but I am not as pleased with the Hi-Point as I should be. I am about to send one of my mags back for at least the second time. Hi-Points make good guns for the money, but I'm not sure that they make good first guns because many of them require a little fiddling. If it is a first handgun, you probably don't have the confidence to fiddle for yourself, so your first gun should probably be a little more reliable out of the box. Again, just my experience with Hi-Point.

I decided I wanted a second gun, so I decided to look for another semi auto. I looked at several types of guns and several calibers. In the end, I decided to stick with 9mm until I was proficient, which I would recommend to any new shooter. 45's are starting to run almost double the cost of 9mm, so that means you'll shoot half as much and probably have less on hand. We could debate this forever, but as far as semi-autos go, I'll be a 9mm man for awhile.