NAS quesitons for you computer guys

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by andrew241, Oct 24, 2007.

1. andrew241

andrew241 Member

Ohio
    I am thinking about setting up a NAS at home. I work in IT so I understand it mostly. Do any of you have some setup? What do you think abou tthe little stand alone units with 1 drive, the raid setups with 2 drives get kinda pricey.

2. honestly can't say that i've used or set one up. I would assume that it would be pretty straightforward though. I just run a server at home with a 500gb sata for my network storage.

3. andrew241

andrew241 Member

Ohio
    I want my own server!!!!! I still might build a tower and just go from there.

4. vallen

vallen Well-Known Member

I've tried almost every brand of NAS- they all suck in one way or another.
    Either bad connectivity (drops off the network or constantly re-logging in), too loud, too hot, HD failures, or terrible copy speed.

Set up a home server in a closet with lot's of space. Cheaper too since you don't need lots of processor speed. My 2 are a MacMini for music and movies, and an old Dell P4 running Ubuntu Linux for my print and document server. Flawless streaming, small and easy.

5. I use a home server. I have an old p4 2.8 ghz with a bunch of memory and 3 250 gig drives running win2k server.

I even turned it into a domain server just so that i could learn domain server administration.

6. andrew241

andrew241 Member

Ohio
    what about those NAS op systems I see out there? What do you think of those? They basically convert a PC over to a NAS box

7. I don't know that I really see the point. in doing the os conversion route, why not just share the drive to the network.

I picked up two dell slim towers(gx260 slims) a couple years back with lcd's, kbrd, mouse, etc. for ~125 each. One I am loaning to a friend for his server, the other I use for a file and print server running windows server 2k3. Until I ran updates a week ago it had been up for over a month 8)