300 Blackout

Discussion in 'Rifle Cartridge Data' started by GoesBang, Feb 18, 2017.

1. GoesBang

GoesBang Supporting Member

Just got my first batch of brass today. Dies are ordered. What is your favorite load? Light or heavy? I've got 308 bullets in 4 or 5 weights. Thinking of using Varget or Benchmark this go around. ImageUploadedByHi-Point Forum1487451094.016140.jpg

2. greg_r

greg_r Lifetime Supporter

Varget and Benchmark are too slow of a powder for 300 blackout.

I use Lil Gun, 296, and 4227.

lklawson likes this.

3. I haven't reloaded any .300 Blackout yet, so I'm interested favorite loads also. Both sub-sonic and super sonic.

4. GoesBang

GoesBang Supporting Member

Well I have some H110. Good call

5. eet

eet Member

I've been shooting 300 for more than 3 years and reloading it for 2-1/2. I have tried all sorts of loads for my 16" setup. For me, I have gotten the best results with Sierra 125 gr Spitzer (#2120) and 16.8 grains of Lil Gun. My suggestion is to have fun with it, Hodgdon and others have some great data on line. You do need a faster powder though.

Good luck.

lklawson likes this.
  6. Visper

Visper AK = Automatic Killer!?! Supporting Member

Hodgdon CFE BLK. I just purchased some about 2 weeks ago.

My shooting buddy reloaded 50 or so and we tried them out about a month ago. They cycled both sub and super in our 300's with pistol length gas tubes.

My buddy has been reloading for awhile so I have been using his knowledge a lot in my reloading infancy!!

lklawson likes this.
  7. GLUGLUG

GLUGLUG Supporting Member

NC
    Using the 125gr Sierra Pro Hunter #2120 I have had excellent results with IMR4227, H110, and Lil' Gun.

I only use Fed 223 cases and LC 5.56 converted to 300blk.
    I use 2.06 for OAL with this bullet.

Here is some data. This target was at 50 yds with H110.
    the charge weight is written near each group. I have gone with 18 gr and it does well at 100 yds also but I cant find that target right now.