Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I recently bought a Hi Point 45 ACP, this is my first hand gun. Today I put my first 6 clips worth of ammo through it, using 2 different clips. Every clip had a failure to feed on the last but 1 round - the cartridge ending up vertical viewed through the eject port, and out of the 6 clips the slide only locked back on 2 occasions after the last round in the clip.

The ammo was Wolf 230gr FMJ, which I have since learned is not so good! What I would like to know is can both problems - failures to load & the slide not locking back, be blamed on the ammo, or do I have any weak springs etc in the clips or gun?

If it's likely the ammo is the problem any suggestions for what to use.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
6,279 Posts
I'm no expert, but did you leave your magazines loaded for a while first? I hear you kind of need to work the spring in before they truly function well. Also, polishing the feed ramp always helps, but this doesn't seem to be that kind of problem... I'm sure one of the other users will chime in with more precise info.

BTW... The proper term is "magazine" or "mag." A clip is used to load a magazine. But that's just me being anal about terminology.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Lol, thanks for the reply - Mag is what I meant, I guess that's my English ignorance showing through (no guns there!) :) Any way Ive had the mags loaded with 7 rounds for about a month now.

·
Registered
278 Posts
I had some of the same problem with wolf ammo in my .45. I went back to brass and i never had a problem since. My JHP.45 hates wolf ammo. I would try different ammo first.

·
Registered
223 Posts