7.62 AKs illegal in CT?

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by Glennfrank, Feb 3, 2008.

1. Glennfrank

Glennfrank Member

CT
    Hey all,
    went to a new (to me) gunshop today because I had heard through the grapevine they sold Saigas at a reasonable price. They only had the 223 and 308 versions however.
    So I asked one of the clerks if they ever got them in.
    He then told me that they were illegal in CT, at which point someone else said all 7.62x39 rifles were illegal in CT. Does anyone have any info on this? I mean I can't believe the 7.62 Saigas are banned, let alone any rifle that shoots 7.62.

2. Glennfrank

Glennfrank Member

CT
    Dammit.
    Wait, when you say "7.62x39 is illegal" you're only talking about AK variants right? Sorry for my ignorance, I am new to this & don't really 'get' these seemingly arbitrary gun laws.

3. neothespian

neothespian Member

There isn't anything to "get" because that's not the point. The point is to ban guns that are evil and that are killing babies!!!!!

Ok, back to reality...

Alot of gun laws are designed out of hype. Mac-10's and Tec-9's were banned in many cities during the 90's heyday of "Boods v. Cripts" violence because they looked evil and had a reputation to boot. Nevermind the fact that both lines of pistols were poor sellers and were fraught with mechanical flaws. AK-47's and all associated types are the "Terrorist" weapon and every criminial in Hollywood totes one, so therefore they must be banned. This goes for anything with barrel shrouds, folding stocks and drum magazines.

Wait! What's that you say? This is a bunch of equipment that costs thousands upon thousands of dollars, and most criminals use bodged together, cheap disposable arms that are easily stolen and modified such as single shot breakload shotguns, .25 semi auto tintypes and chopped up hunting rifles stolen out of trucks?

Yep. You're right.