Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey i was just curious, has anyone used a 91/30 for hunting? im new to rifles this is my first rifle and always wanted to go hunting somewhere in florida that has deer, just wondered id be able to use this after i add the ati stock and a scope, thanks guys

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
im planning on doing the same thing....a 308 is a very common deer hunting round, its 7.62x51. a mosin fires a 7.62x54r....once you scope it i think it will be a very effective hunting rifle....

heres some links that might help you

http://www.mosin-nagant-scope-mount.com/#m91

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks for the replies guys, i was reading the brochure for an area i want to someday hunt with my mosin in the future, i like to plan ahead and do research, well one of the rules stats

Firearms using rimfire or non-expanding, full metal jacket (military ball) ammunition are prohibited for taking deer.

where can i find ammo for the mosin that fits the bill? the only ammo i have is military i guess from the gun show i picked up a few weeks ago and i cant even shoot it at any of the gun ranges here lol, frustrated to say the least

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
Wolf makes soft point and hollow point rounds in 7.62x54R which can be used for hunting, as does Sellier & Bellot and Prvi Partizan. Check Graf & Sons, MidwayUSA, or cheaperthandirt.com.

·
Premium Member
345 Posts
You mean go hunting with something that looks like this?

(Not my rifle unfortunately)
The great thing about inexpensive surplus weapons is you can mod them at a reasonable price to go hunting.
Go for it!

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
You mean go hunting with something that looks like this?

(Not my rifle unfortunately)
The great thing about inexpensive surplus weapons is you can mod them at a reasonable price to go hunting.
Go for it!