995ts bolt jammed closed on a round / FTE

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Carbines' started by Deaf-Eddie, Jun 25, 2015.

1. Deaf-Eddie

Deaf-Eddie Member

First, the qualifiers: I'm a NOOB, and I haven't fired the carbine yet - Just picked it up a few weeks ago. Brand new 995ts CA, serial number starts with "F".

So, thanks to this forum, I have NOW seen the advice NOT to disassemble the carbine - after I've already taken it apart several times, and FLITZ-ed a few obvious wear spots. Shoulda asked first... dang it. :mad:

And, NOW I've seen the advice NOT to "hand cycle" live rounds through this carbine. Oops. No accidental discharges so far! :(

My issue is, I can hand-cycle plastic snap-caps through the carbine just fine - boy, it really throws them "empties" out there, doesn't it? Champion.

BUT, when hand-cycling REAL rounds, I can get one or two to cycle, then a FTE - and/or, worse, the bolt jams SHUT, not open, and cannot be cycled. I have to stand on it and pull the charging handle with both hands to get it to open - and at that, the round stays in the barrel. Repeated attempts to eject it (with the magazine out) by cycling the action either just fail or -worse - it just jams closed again.

I've searched the forum, and either I'm not using the correct terminology, or this problem hasn't been posted.

Extrapolating a question from those searches, I can tell you that the firing pin is not bent...

Flame away if you must, but I come humbly seeking sage advice. I'm hoping that I'm just an idiot, and someone else has had - and solved - this problem without sending the rifle back to Mom, as you call Hi Point.

Thanks in advance for your wisdom and tolerance.

2. Bull

Bull Just a Man Supporting Member

Welcome to the forum!..... Help will be along shortly!

3. Blondie70

Blondie70 NRA Life Member Member

I think the sizing on the ammo may be suspect. I don't think you are gonna have problems when you actually start shooting it. Don't think you have a problem !