995ts cleaning and lubing

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Carbines' started by sw1shers, Feb 24, 2015.

1. sw1shers

sw1shers Member

I have a fxxxxxx serial number bought brand new last year. I have about 500-600 rounds down range. I need to figure out if the fxxxxxx serial number series is still susceptible to the firing pin channel wear. Also, will WD40 , and 10w30 motor oil work for lubing after cleaning. There is a bit of metal wear in the firing pin channel

2. mitchr

mitchr Member

I'm kinda new with Hi Point & others may disagree because it's a bit different platform than other firearms, but I prefer no oil in the FP channel of my other firearms. If any lube at all, I use a dry lube such as KG-10.

I don't consider WD40 a lubricant. It is a water dispersing agent. When wet, it will feel a bit like a lubricant, but it dries out quickly & leaves a residue.

Many use regular motor oil rather than the more expensive "gun" oils, but generally prefer the synthetics, like Mobil One. Personally, I use a bicycle chain lubricant called Finish Line Dry Lube. It is teflon in a wax carrier that goes on liguid & dries to a waxy feel. I use it inside & outside because it is a very good rust preventive. (Wipe the outside real well to get any excess) It doesn't seem to ever vaporate or dry up like some oils do. I've field stripped pistols that have sat over 6 months & the rails are still lubed.

3. Dagwood

Dagwood Supporting Member

I agree. Most people suggest you not lubricate the firing pin channel. I never have on any of my firearms. And wd40 is not a good lubricant . And motor oil is too thick. A good quality gun oil is preferred. I use a thin layer of gun grease on things like slides on my polymer framed pistols.

4. cicpup

cicpup Resident PITA Supporting Member

Vermont
    600 rounds in you should see metal wear all over the place. Clean, lube and shoot 600 more.

And go spend $3 on some gun oil you penny pincher.

5. cicpup

Vermont