9mm and .45ACP

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Pistols' started by Glock19Fan, May 13, 2014.

1. Glock19Fan

Glock19Fan Member

Like many here, I own a wide variety of firearms from a .22 derringer to an antique Civil War era cannon. I share an interest in Hi Points and I think they are one of the best values out there. With some sand paper, a quick polish and some occasional maintainence they run great.

At the moment I dont have much interest in the Hi Point Carbines, and I have never been a .40S&W fan and the .380 Hi Point just isnt for me (unless the deal was too good to refuse). However, I do own a 9mm and .45 model.

For anyone interested, I did a test a while back comparing 9mm and .45. I have been conducting ballistic gelatin tests for nearly 10 years now, and while they arent the definitive answer to everything I believe they do a great job of representing calibers. Many studies have been conducted from collective law enforcement involved shootings to validate that.

Anyway, I just figured I would post the pictures for you guys to look at. The first test was a comparison of 9mm FMJ to .45ACP FMJ (124 grain vs 230 grain). The second test was a comparison of Gold Dot JHPs (124 grain +P vs 230 grain +P). I will let you guys guess which one is which.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. duster066

duster066 Supporting Member

Hey plasticfantastic19fan, welcome to the site!;) Just a little joke. lol

Thanks for the input. I've have used wet newspaper. Not because it's a great duplicate for anything, but because it gives decent relative results and it's cheap.

If you have thick skin and a sense of humor you'll fit right in around here.

3. Good Morning,

I'll take a guess at the which block is which. Top block is the basic rounds with the .45acp shot through the top of the block. .45 FMJ tends to move all the way through.

Bottom block is obviously HP ammo and I think the bottom track is the .45 HP.