9mm vs .45

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by LTKinz, Jun 11, 2008.

1. LTKinz

LTKinz Guest

I had a quick question to throw out. I'm currently an active duty soldier that will be deployed to Iraq in the near future. I wanted to buy a new pistol to have for my wife to keep at our residence for self-protection for her and our baby when I'm gone. I'm torn between the 9mm and .45. She's a very small girl, but I've had her shoot a Glock .45 before and she did fine. I'm familiar w/ the stopping power a .45 produces, but I'm also familiar w/ the higher rate of fire of the 9mm. We have been trained on both and I prefer the .45, but I've heared the hi-point .45 has a significant amount of recoil compared to say, a glock. Out of the hi-point arms, should I get her the 9mm or the .45?

2. hobo

hobo Guest

Two words... Hand size. You already know everything (probably more) than I could tell you about calibers. I own one of each and they're equally dependable so it's a wash there. But the .45 is a large handgun, so if she's a "small girl" the JHP just might be too much to hold from both a size and weight standpoint. See my sig pic for comparison.

Beyond that, please don't hand her any handgun and deploy. One of my customer's husband did just that to her last month. "Honey, I'm going to Afghanastan, here's a gun. Protect yourself." Additionally, any handgun you purchase will need a break-in and familiarization period. With a Hi-Point, 250-500 rounds will break it in. How long it takes her to get used to it is entirely up to her. And if she's not entirely comfortable with it in a controlled atmosphere like a range, she either won't or won't know how to use it in an emergency.

If training time is short, I would recommend an 18" shotgun (like the Mossberg 500 HS410) or a nice revolver of at least .38 caliber.

Good luck with her gun, good luck with your deployment and thank you for serving your country.