Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm gettin a little bummed. i haven,t shot a lot of handguns in my life but i decided to get a 9mm for home defense. i,m really having accuracy problems. i,m at 7 yards and i am all over the place. i believe i have the right grip and stance but maybe just being a rookie i just need more range time. anyway done whining i guess i,ll just keep practicing.

·
Registered
247 Posts
I can't speak specifically about the C-9, but having large group sizes isn't uncommon for a new pistol shooter. Way back to the first time I shot a centerfire pistol I'd say that first group I had was a good seven inches across.
One thing I do as a supplementary form of practice is shoot an airsoft pistol. While it isn't the same, it has the advantage of being something you can do every day, within your home. Range time and ammo all cost money. An airsoft pistol and pellets are cheap. The pellets can be reused too.

·
Registered
367 Posts
for me my biggest issue is trigger control. Get some snap caps and practice dry firering it. I THINK you can dry fire a hi point fine since it's striker fired but don't qoute me on that. I dry fire my SR9 with the mag in though. I found right near the end of the trigger travel I tend to wana move the gun around alittle.

·
Premium Member
866 Posts