Amateur Radio Service

Discussion in 'Survival Zone' started by Kelotravolski, Dec 2, 2007.

1. Kelotravolski

Kelotravolski Member

I saw several posts about Emergency radios but only receivers. I think that it is important not only to be able to listen in an emergency but to be able to speak. I have been a licensed radio operator for almost a year. The test is easy enough to pass. I did not take a class I bought the book and studied for two weeks took the test and passed. (missed two) Anyway getting even the most basic license allows you to operate on VHF and UHF frequencies. This year the FCC removed all Morse Code Requirements for any license class. I like being able to have an emergency communications tool to use even when power and cell towers are down. If anyone is interested in getting licensed I can tell them which book I used to study for the test and sort of help them to find the way. The ARRL website has a practice test so you can kind of get a feel for if you will pass the test or not before you go in to take it. And then other than the good emergency skills it is just a lot of fun.

2. Kelotravolski

Kelotravolski Member

[​IMG]

that is my hopelessly outdated radio. I am planing on upgrading this Christmas by having everyone who is giving me a present chip intowards the total cost of the radio. $116.

[​IMG]

This is the one I want.

3. SHOOTER Z

SHOOTER Z Well-Known Member

What kind of HT is that? why is it hopelessly outdated? I have been a ham since 95 My HT is a Radio Shack HTX 202 My first one was an ancient Yasue [Big grey colored brick size and weight] Didn't have anmy PL in it but I loved it cause at only 3 watts it could still get out very good audio also had a power chger stand I could alo leave it in the charger and use it as a base if needed to. When I left Maine and moved here I left it with My RACES team as a emergency radio for a shelter. When I get another vehicle I hope to put in my moblile HTX 212.