Another Newbie

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Pistols' started by sdbrit68, Sep 9, 2014.

1. sdbrit68

sdbrit68 Supporting Member

Hello everyone......

Another Newbie here to hi-point, spent the last few days reading many threads before joining, as I didn't want to post questions on the same things 100 other people probably have.

Due to Commiefornias 10 day wait period ( now found unconstitutional), I pick up my new c9 on the 16th. Background, more of a rifle guy, ex military, have shot smith and wesson 45's, and previously owned a beretta 40 which I loved to death, I cleaned it just to spend quality time with it. I am NOT a name snob, and I wont be comparing the two.

Wanted a new handgun, I dont shoot more than once a month to two months, so, the hi-point seemed correct to me, after reading and filtering out the " I would never own that crap " crowd comments.

Few questions......

1) I have seen repeatedly, only load 7 rounds the first 100 rounds during break in, suggested numerous times on older threads before a full load

2) the one at the gun store, to rack it seemed a lot more effort than my beretta, does this break in, and become easier ( thinking of the ole lady)

3) My Beretta liked to be wet, actually many owners suggested using grease instead of oil, and it worked well the 2 years I had it, how about the c9 ?

4) any ammo issues ?, I was preparing to buy a sccy cx2, until I read the manual where it seems to be very particular what ammo is run through it, I have 100 rounds remington, and a friend gave me 500 rounds silver bear

Any suggestions for break in and such from this that been there done that is much appreciated, after that, I intend to hit the range and see what targets I can put a few hundred hole in

thanks
    Mark

2. GoesBang

GoesBang Supporting Member

My SCCY CPX only likes ammo that goes bang!

Other than that it eats everything I feed it.

3. planosteve

planosteve Lifetime Supporter