Anyone else riding bikes, mopeds, etc...

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by Silicon Wolverine, Apr 28, 2008.

1. Silicon Wolverine

Silicon Wolverine Well-Known Member

...because of high gas prices? just curious. Ive been riding a dump scavenged huffy for nearly a week. Price was tight and the tires still have the nubbies on them.

SW

2. browwiw

browwiw Member

I have started a walking regimen both for fitness and just plain getting used to it for the near future 'crisis'. Like I've said elsewhere, I'm suffering from Post Peak-Oil Paranoia.

3. JMcDonald

JMcDonald Member

I started riding my bike after I transfered to a new school (University of Oklahoma). I live about 2 miles away, and at first it would take me about 18 minutes to get to school. Now it takes me about 9-13, depending on my mood and the wind (9 if Im feeling good and the wind is behind me, 12 or 13 if I don't feel like rushing and the wind is in my face), and thus easily beat my roommate to class when he drives, heh.

Its $200 per year for a parking permit, and on average I spend about $20 per month on gas just from running the occasional errand that is more than a couple miles away or when I am grocery shopping. So yeah, over a year I am probably saving not only that $200 permit, but probably at the very least an additional $20 a month, so probably around $500 a year. Not a lot for some, but in college its quite a bit! And hell, that right there will pay for a Hi-Point and 1500 rounds of 9mm ammo, hah.

Not only that, but the result of my increased fitness was about 10lbs of muscle gained in my thighs, and greater lung and cardiovascular fitness! This was just in the last 4 months since this semester started!

And, with gas only getting higher, Ill just keep smiling wider and wider pedaling down the sidewalk, hah.