AR gurus, learn me

Discussion in 'Training' started by Back2School, Nov 12, 2014.

1. Back2School

Back2School Member

So I just got my AR and I am a total noob to them. Dont laugh, but I have a class at Gander Mountain this weekend to learn about the AR. Some range time, teardowns and such. Sounded like a fun afternoon hanging out with other gun guys and learning something I probably dont know.

Now, since I just got my AR and havent even shot it yet, what do you recommend I do before I take it out there? Brakedown and clean I am sure - so I will probably check some youtube videos today but is there anything I should focus on?

2. planosteve

planosteve Lifetime Supporter

I've always found focusing on your target works extremely well

3. I bet more guns get broke, or a bad rap. From people tearing them down and cleaning them before they shoot it. Than anything else

.....I'm just sayin.

4. Back2School

Back2School Member

I never was a big fan of cleaning before shooting until I bought my 10/22. FIrst day at the range it was double feeds and jams non stop. Worst time I ever had shooting a gun. I took it home, tore it down, cleaned it up and havent had an issue since.

After that I have always done a cleaning before shooting

5. IF you have a good mechanical aptitude its probably a good idea.

I dont, and im sure there are a lot of people who tear there guns down farther than they meant to.

So i usually just spray some de-greaser, and bore snake them.

Check the rails and slides for build up.

Then shoot it. So i know it worked before i start digging.

And i still only ever tear guns down to the manufacture suggestion.

Its just me, if i tear them down past the manual instructions, i wont get it back together. Thankfully i learned this lesson with a hi-point years ago.

So i just sent it back when i got tired of playing puzzle. and it came back nice and new.

6. tallbump

tallbump Supporting Member