Basic pump shotgun 101 question

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by Browning 9 Guy, Jan 11, 2015.

1. Browning 9 Guy

Browning 9 Guy Premium Supporter Member

I'm a noob to just about anything firearms related

Yesterday I bought a 12 ga Mossberg 500 just to learn the basics of scatterguns.

It's weird. I load the tube, pull the fore stock back, look into the receiver and the shell's sitting in there loose like a duck in a pond. I could blow it out with strong enough breath. Move the fore stock forward and sure nuff the shell chambers. I mean there's no mechanism that holds the shell snugly prior to being chambered.

I'm used to the semiauto pistol operation where the round is always held snugly either by mag lips or by the chamber walls.

Is this kind of a pump gun feature I shouldn't even be asking about?

2. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

I hope you're using dummy ammo?

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuqNtxPrJ-I[/ame]

3. RedRaptor22

RedRaptor22 Member

Completely typical pump action behavior, as long as you're not trying to fire it upside down or laying on its right side its never an issue.

Pretty much any pump action anything and most lever actions do the same.

4. Browning 9 Guy

Browning 9 Guy Premium Supporter Member

Yep - dummy rounds

Yeah - using dummy rounds. Thanks for posting the vid.

5. rickm

rickm Member

Do it quick and you will never know its just sitting there. After you use it for awhile you will get it down to 1 smooth motion just keep it well cleaned and lubed and it will last you for years.

6. Ding ding ding.
    My 500. And my 336 30-30 are the exact same way

7. Think1st

Think1st Supporting Member

Florida