Beautiful S&W model 15 in local pawn

Discussion in 'General Hi-Point Discussion' started by Browning 9 Guy, Oct 16, 2014.

1. Browning 9 Guy

Browning 9 Guy Premium Supporter Member

It's stunning. A 4-inch Model 15 in the local pawn. Pristine gloss blue, bull barrel and rounded butt, factory walnut grips with Tyler-T. By "pristine" I mean perfect, like it was manufactured today. I adore old Smith and Wesson 38 Specials. Just can't pay the 600 dollars they're asking without dipping into savings. What would you guys do?

2. GKC

GKC Lifetime Supporter

It's a funny thing, but I'm always reading on the S&W forum how people in various parts of the country find such great bargains in pawn shops. Around here, the pawn shops I've been to have their guns priced outrageously high.

I'm not an expert on pricing S&W revolvers by any means, but there are some things that will significantly affect the gun's value. For example, do you know what model/generation (i.e., 15, 15-1, 15-2, etc) the gun is? Do you know the year it was made? If you can get the serial number, you can call S&W and they will tell you the model/generation, the year it was made, and if it has the more desirable features like a pinned barrel. The grips (or stocks, as some prefer on a revolver) are important, too...if they are the original grips, that is a big plus. If they are from an early generation, they can be as valuable themselves as is the gun!

Of course, if you are just buying a shooter, then $600 is high and you can find others that are less expensive and not so nice, but functional. If you want the gun as an add to your collection, and all the right "plus" factors are there, then $600 (for a pristine model) may actually be a good price.

Probably the best option is to ask the members on the S&W forum. There are some very knowledgeable members there, and some serious collectors.

3. planosteve

planosteve Lifetime Supporter

If it was a model 19 in that condition I would buy it.

4. MachoMelvin