Bolt 223 left unclean for 3 days after 19 rounds

Discussion in 'Gunsmith shop' started by Browning 9 Guy, Sep 14, 2014.

1. Browning 9 Guy

Browning 9 Guy Premium Supporter Member

I had an emergency at the office (19-hour days) that left me zero time to clean my 223 Savage, fired 3 days ago, 19 rounds. Is the bore going to rust/corrode? Ammo was Prvi Partizan, brass cased, boxer primed. Clean ammo. I know this sounds paranoid but I'm a complete newb on center fire rifles.

Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom.

2. Dagwood

Dagwood Supporting Member

I think you will be fine. 19 rds wasn't enough to get it dirty. Go shoot another couple hundred thru her and then clean it. I know some people are fanatics about cleaning there guns after every outing, but unless you are shooting dirty surplus ammo, which I know you are not in your .223, I don't see a need unless you have shot a significant amount of rds thru it. imho. Hell, hp suggests you run a bore snake down the barrel after 2 - 500 rds and a thorough cleaning only after 1500 to 2000 rds.

3. rickm

rickm Member

I know people that owns single shot,bolt and pump guns that has never ever cleaned their guns in the 50+ years they have owned them and they still work just fine they hit what they aim at. But then they aint making 400 or better shots either.

4. greg_r

greg_r Lifetime Supporter

Won't hurt it until l less you are shooting surplus corrosive stuff, and I do not know of any corrosive .223. You will be fine.

5. ArmyScout

ArmyScout Supporting Member

IL
    I do a quick clean all my guns after every range trip. Not an "Army Inspection" clean. That I do when I have to put them away for an extended period.

6. moona11

moona11 King of you Monkeys Lifetime Supporter

I clean after every outing maybe not the same day but within a week. Unless its my carry that is cleaned right way.

7. lklawson

lklawson Staff Member