Broken ATI stock

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by muttmutt, Mar 17, 2008.

1. muttmutt

muttmutt Member

I just installed a new ATI stock and fired 20 rounds. The stock broke at the trigger guard. Anyone else have this problem ??

2. Havent heard of that happening, I would contact ATI and see about a replacement.

3. GlockMan

GlockMan Member

Pictures PLEASE!

4. stremph

stremph Guest

Now y'done did it.

Let the "995 is bad for the ATI stock" games begin.

Joking of course. Curious to see how it broke.

Maybe an air bubble in the polymer?

5. muttmutt

muttmutt Member

Here is some pics

Called ATI today. i have to ship the stock back on my dime before they send a replacement.[​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]890.jpg[/IMG]

6. Looks as if it might be at a mold injection point which migh cause and air bubble or poor quality of polymer at the end of an injection cycle. I might add I'm no engineer. But I would be interested in know what caused it either way seeing it didn't fracture in a seem.

7. Huggy

Huggy Member

SEPA
    Tough break :( . I hope they reimburse you for the shipping... or send you extra goodies to make up for it.

8. Sniper 995

Sniper 995 Guest

that little round spot in middle of crack is actually a mold injection point, or "gate" in molding terminology. Cracks by a "gate" usually indicate a "flow-line" which is a temperature differance in the plastic.

9. Lashlarue

Lashlarue Guest

JB Weld it, it will be stronger than new.I have a laundry list of items I have repaired with that stuff, from air cleaner and carburetor studs to headphones.No joke broke the air cleaner stud on a race bike[motocross] raced it the next day and it held. Was still on there when I sold the bike several years later.

10. Silicon Wolverine

Silicon Wolverine Well-Known Member

crappy polymer. Make them send you a new one or give you your money back.

SW

11. GlockMan

GlockMan Member