Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so as you're aware I'm a relative newbie to metallic reloading but while waiting for Midway to get my press in I thought I would go ahead and start piecing together the .40 S&W components. My problem is I'm going into information overload and I don't know what to get. Eventually I plan on casting my own bullets but in the mean time what do you all reccomend and for powder too? The primary reason for reloading will be for stress reduction after work but I also need to save money in order to sell it to the wife so I've been looking at plated (i.e. Berry's, Rainier's, etc.) and Accurate powder but I'm open to suggestions.

·
Registered
49 Posts
i bought a box of 250 / 124 grain round tip 9mm barry,s cast bullets i bought for 14 bucks in st george UT, im reloading today... i have the lee 175 grain trunicated cone .401dual cavity mold for my .40sw and it seems to work well... but i did have to size them all, they were casting out to about .402-.403////// i would buy 175-200 grain cast bullets any brand for target shooting and i use accurate #2 powder and winchester small pistol primers.

·
Registered
5,757 Posts

·
Registered
17,917 Posts
i have the lee 175 grain trunicated cone .401dual cavity mold for my .40sw and it seems to work well... but i did have to size them all, they were casting out to about .402-.403//////
Rhino 801, when you cast your bullets, are you dropping them into a bucket of water once they clear the mold? Water quenching will take those couple of extra thousandths off the bullet itself when it hits that water due to the shrinkage when hot metal gets cold fast, kinda like tempering steel. This way, you don't have to post resize your bullets, you can just load 'em up and have fun.

·
Registered
3,851 Posts