Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I always disassemble and clean my c9 after a trip to the range,well today after disassembly I noticed that my feed ramp was cracked right where it mates to the barrel,the pistol never gave me any reason to think something was wrong while shooting it,it performed flawlessly through 100 rounds,I'm not sure what happened,it has always been a great reliable gun and a tack driver,I'm a newbie here and have read several post by members stating HighPoints repair policy being a great one,I guess I will call them next week and go from there,I really hate to send my baby off in the mail,do I need to go through an FFL to ship? or will they possibly send me a replacement part? thanks,C.Campbell (superpro18)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Call 'em up and they'll tell you what to do :)

No need to go FFL to ship to manufacturer, but I believe common contract carrier (FedEx, UPS) is required for handguns ;)

·
Registered
258 Posts
Believe you have to ship Next Day through UPS or FEDEX

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Are you sure its just not where the Zamack ramp casting meets the steel barrel.I noticed all my HPs look like they have a hairline crack left to right At the top of the ramp. I just make sure its smooth.
Anyone else notice this?

·
Registered
663 Posts
Also you are putting undo ware on the gun by taking it apart to clean after every trip.
HPs were made to go for extended periods with just a wipe down and a squirt of oil here or there.
HP only recommends the gun be broken down every 2 or 3 thousand rounds for a good cleaning, and for those who dont feel like they can do it , HP will do it for you if you send it in. They want to be sure the gun is put back together correctly and if you are not sure you can do it your self, it is better to be safe than sorry.
If I were you I would send the gun in to HP and have them fix it. That is what the warranty is for.