C-9 vs C-9 Comp

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by browwiw, Dec 22, 2007.

1. browwiw

browwiw Member

I've decided I really want to get a C-9 Hi-Point. Thing is, I can't decide if I want to get the plain C-9 or the C-9 compensated. It's intended purpose in my menagerie will to be a partner to my 995 carbine (I have a full frame .45 Armsor 1911 and and a 20 inch barrel Charles Daly 12 ga. pump for those of you worrying about my personal safety).

For those of you in the know, is there in appreciable difference in the range shooting performance between the C-9 and C-9 Comp? The compensator on my 995 does noticeably improve performance for me, but I have no experience with such on handguns.

Also, is there a shortage of C9s? My local dealer is having a hard time getting restocked with C-9 because their wholesaler is out and on a waiting list. Is that just a western Kentucky thing or what?

2. The barrel on the C9 comp is I believe 1/2 inch longer than the regular C9, so that may result in a tad more accuracy. Just a guess

3. hpman

hpman Guest

It's also about 10oz heavier. The same weight as the jcp. Don't have a 9 comp but might get one down the road.

4. Ari

Ari Guest

Dont over think it get them both. Start with the first one you find :wink:

5. browwiw

browwiw Member

While that is tempting, I am a minimalist. I don't like to own so many guns that I don't shoot them all regularly.

6. Ari

Ari Guest

7. hpman

hpman Guest

you've got two hands don't you.........

8. browwiw

browwiw Member

Yup, and I can only hold one gun at a time. The way I was taught, it's better to have a few tools that can do many things than have many tools that do few things.

9. Being a minimalist is fine.... it makes it easier for guys like us to get more guns... Thanks!!!