Calling all mechanics

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by Oldgeek, Dec 12, 2007.

1. I've got a great looking 1995 Silverado with the 5.7 litre with about 95,000 miles on it. The truck runs great for a while and then gets a miss in it. I think it is a dirty/ worn fuel injector. It may miss for a day or a month and then smooth out. I've changed all the engine wiring, new dist cap, new plugs, cleaned the throttle body (that helped a little) and the PVC and EGR sensor. Before I throw myself on the mercy of the local mechanic, does anyone have any ideas. I'm a marginal mechanic so be gentle. Thanks

2. pills

pills Guest

fuel pump? fuel filter?

3. Funny you mention that cause I have a 1999 Malibu and experiece the same problem. When I start it up its misses, sometimes even the check engine light turns on but after I gun it a couple of times its evens out. This problem happens even if the engine is warm. Done the same, changed plugs, wire harness, but also changed the fuel filter (fearing it was clogged)... has not fixed the problem.

Also, it wont happen all the time, like right now, its running "great".

4. azhipoint

azhipoint Member

Had a 93 Toyota fuel injected that did this in the cooler times of the year.
    I used a product called seafoam injector cleaner
    start car let her warm up... while motor is running spray seafoam in the intake about a 2 second shot wait a few seconds and repeat.
    cost about 6 bucks at the time worth a try for the cost.

5. urotu

urotu Member

Seafoam is a great product, use it.

You can either put it in the tank and let it run through the fuel system (works well), or you can do as it explains on the back of the can (works better).

To properly run it through the manifold you have to run it through a vaccuum line, I'lll walk you through it.

1 Get the vehicle all nice and warmed up to normal operating temperature.