Clean Freak

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by FreeinVT, Aug 8, 2015.

1. Had misfeeds on all 3 of my active weapons today. My instructor says they needed lubrication, and after oiling the mechanisms, they fed fine. As stated in another thread elsewhere: I clean my weapons until the materials are extracted without any black on them. I may be over-cleaning them, especially where it counts. In the Army, we used to apply thin coats of lubricant to parts and we certainly didn't have CLP that I can recall for general bore cleaning, though I use that now.

I'm also a digital electronics technician from back in the early 1990s, and when working on VCRs, I used Marvel Mystery Oil to lubricate sensitive moving parts inside the main mechanism. So I am requesting input from anyone who will give it, especially active duty and veterans: what do you recommend for a general lubricant? Or can I ask for product names here? Would the Mystery Oil be suitable for a weapon?

2. Think1st

Think1st Supporting Member

Florida
    First of all, there is no such thing as over-cleaning a weapon. I also clean mine until no fouling appears on an oiled piece of cloth. That is what is required for turn-in, and that is what is required before a weapon goes back into my own cabinet.

Secondly, I like to use Frog Lube on my own weapons. I've not heard of the Mystery Oil that you are using, so I can't comment on it. Is it a penetrating oil? If so, you probably won't want to use it. The viscosity will be too low to maintain persistent coverage of your parts or to help attenuate the effects of heat.

Basically, Break Free, RemOil, Frog Lube and other common lubes all work just fine.

3. moona11

moona11 King of you Monkeys Lifetime Supporter