Coming soon Wilson Combat ETM 1911 magazine review

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by .45acp, Jan 26, 2008.

1. I just placed my order an hour ago and will be posting a report ASAP.

In the meantime I will give the Kimber Tactical Pro magazine a rating of A.

The Kimber may deserve higher but I'm not yet certain as Wilson Combat is the standard by which others are judged but suffice it to say that the Kimber Pro Tac has been flawless through several hundred rounds.
    The finish is very good, slide lock worked everytime, ejection of the magazine was no problem. There have been no feed issues.
    In my opinion this Kimber Pro Tac is one of the best magazines I have tried but still needs to be compared to the Gold Standard which is on it's way.

Stay Tuned.

2. I got my Wilson Combat ETM magazines today.

I can't issue a range report yet for two reasons:
    1) We are due for an ice storm today and tomorrow so driving to the gun club is out at least untill the weekend.
    2) Wilson in their splendid instruction sheet recommends loading the magazine to capacity and letting it sit loaded for two days to facilitate break in.

I was impressed with the Kimber Tac-Pro magazines and had no problems, fit and finish were good and operation was flawless.

I wanted to try the Wilson mags as they are supposed to be the gold standard, especially the ETM mag.

Though I haven't shot it yet the mags exude quality.
    The fit and finish are great, the bumber is pre-installed and not an ad on and all the indentations and cuts just seem exact.

The Kimber Tac-Pro had a coated follower that was semi-skirted. The ETM magazines have a fully skirted composite or coated nylon follower with an indentation that Wilson says is for better feeding as it causes a nose up profile on the bullet.

Testing the feeding with hollow point dummy rounds the feeding has been flawless through 100 cycles of the slide and this is with a new mag that is not yet broken in.