Critical Duty

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Reviews & Range Reports' started by 2012gt, Aug 25, 2017.

1. 2012gt

2012gt Well-Known Member

image.jpeg Decided to finally try out the accuracy of Hornady Critical Duty +p in the 995. Not bad for a $250 gun. 25 yards. Iron sights.

vboy36, Icy Dyce, rowiebowie and 4 others like this.
  2. moona11

moona11 King of you Monkeys Lifetime Supporter

ND
    How big is the target? And if the red ius bigger than a dime you need practice. Since you used a rifle at 25 yards.

3. 2012gt

2012gt Well-Known Member

Red is the size of a quarter. Shot kneeling resting on my knee but I'm not an expert marksman or anywhere close to one. Only flat place in the yard is about 25 yards. If I ever get a chance I want to get it out to the farm and stretch it out a bit.

4. OldOutlaw

OldOutlaw Supporting Member

Didn't I tell you that was good ammo? :) Plus, it is low flash designed also.

rowiebowie and 2012gt like this.
  5. moona11

moona11 King of you Monkeys Lifetime Supporter

ND
    That's okay mam you keep practicing.

6. 2012gt

2012gt Well-Known Member

Yep. Your suggestion got me to buy the first box. I think Hornady owes you an endorsement check.

OldOutlaw likes this.
  7. OldOutlaw

Nah. Just the fact they make that stuff is enough for me. I will say this though. If you research the Critical Duty, you will find videos showing that the 135gr Critical Duty has more penetration than does the +P version in gel tests. Dunno why that is. So, I don't go to the expense of the +P for that reason. Both shoot groups like that for both of our 995TS.
    Try it at 50 yards when you can. You will like it!

daveindenver and 2012gt like this.
  8. 2012gt

2012gt Well-Known Member

Possibly because it's moving slower so expanding slower?

9. Rachgier

Rachgier Administrator Staff Member

Shut up, Monkey Queen.

histed, daveindenver and moona11 like this.
  10. OldOutlaw