Custom Hi-Point 9mm ...Because I could.

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Pistols' started by TacticalHipointSmith, May 18, 2015.

1. Hey, first post here. I joined the forum to share my efforts to customize a Hi-Point slightly. My inspiration of course was the video by Dynamic Pie.
    I am pretty comfortable with epoxy and since I have zero experience using a mill, epoxy seemed the no-brainier.
    This was the first time I tried using forms to speed the process of creating my shapes. Normally I just build up the area with increasing layers of epoxy.
    Anyways, I polished what parts I knew would smooth the trigger first. I had considered making the grips removable even with all the material added but abandoned the idea when I realized it would just make everything more complex.
    Cerakoated the barrel after I polished the ramp and re-installed it. I was unsure if I would still be able to install it after the epoxy work.
    So I roughed everything up with a dremel and started putting a base epoxy on.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Next came the forms. I smoothed out what I did prior and made some super simple forms out of some plastic sign material. It was thin enough to easily cut with scissors. I coated it with a release agent.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 18, 2015

3. How it looked after removing the forms.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. talon

talon the banned wagon

Interesting, but if u ever need to repair it you've just made it impossible to do several things that REQUIRE the grips to be removed.