Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

I've been puttering around looking for a project to do while the weather is too crappy for tactical handgun training (plinking) with my JCP.

One of the things I've been thinking about is that with the weapon as slide heavy as it is, I'd really like the whole grip area to feel heftier. To that end, I was thinking about perhaps detaching them from the frame and filling each side of the grip with something heavy, like expandable foam, or something better and heavier, then trimming and sanding them to the point of fitting again and reattaching them.

I'm not a DIY expert or anything and I'm not far up on the proper materials for this type of job. Anyone with me on the grip feeling too light and airy compared to the weight of the slide? I really wouldn't mind carrying a few more ounces if I could equalize the heft of the weapon a little bit.

·
Registered
222 Posts
I found that using the 147gr CQ hollow points from Hornady in the mag helps to balance the weight out. Maybe they should make an optional heavier counter weight to swap with the existing counter weight. I think if they came with a heavier counterweight from the box or had that option, they would probably sell more.

·
Registered
4,755 Posts
I got a idea... Make yourself a set of steel grips for it... solid steel grips. It'd be a cool weekend project if you have access to a grinder, a dremel, and patience.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·