disappointing day at the range

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by USMC_VET, May 16, 2014.

1. USMC_VET

USMC_VET Supporting Member

decided to take my .308 bolt action and 995TS to Lytle creek gun range with a friend of mine also with his .308 bolt action and his 995TS . Well i started shooting my 995TS and dialing in my new Vortex Red dot at 50yrds and was doing very well with nice groupings . Next think i know i see something fly off my Carbine and bounce onto the ground and it was (2) batteries and what looks like a piece of plastic

i stop shooting and look at my new flashlight/laser and notice the battery compartment cover has fallen off result of a broken tab from the tremendous recoil of a PCC 9mm rd . I put the batteries back in and get the cover to close/lock and then notice all i've got is a $50 laser that no longer functions as a flashlight as the recoil killed the bulb

Now back to the Vortex Strikefire red dot this is an awesome optic and once dialed in i was making nice groupings and in the kill zone on the target . I went thru 60 rds and just had fun with this Red Dot

Now i switched over to my .308 Savage but then quickly noticed i forgot an important part of my rifle and left it at home !!! ......... yep forgot the F'n bolt !! . Luckily my friend let me borrow his bolt while he was splaying with his 995TS . Started to get it dialed in at 100 yards when my friend wanted to try my rifle and that's when the other problem happened . about 15-20 rds in as i was helping him sight my rifle in a 100yrds my brand new Muzzle brake decides it wants to follow the bullets path and land some 15 yrds away from were i was shooting and landing in the dirt close to the 25 yrd line