Do I suck at shooting?

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by damageinc, Apr 10, 2008.

1. damageinc

damageinc Guest

I'm pretty new to shooting, unless you count some bird/squirrel hunting with bb guns when I was about 10. I have recently bought a C9 and a rough rider 22. I have done pretty good at the range indoors.
    Today I took both handguns and an old Savage Arms 22 rifle from the 1950's out to the state outdoor range. I have never fired this rifle befor, but I have fired a rifle many years ago. I cleaned the rifle last weekend and wanted to see what I could do. The rifle range is 100 yards and I had a 100 yard rifle target. I fired 30 rounds at that damn thing and could not score a hit. I hit the paper on more than half the shots, but not inside the scoring rings. I then got frustrated and took my handguns to the hand gun range area and shot OK, but not as good as what I'm used to hitting.

Is 100 yards with an old .22 rifle a far range to be accurate? The wind was whipping the targets around a little but, I thought I should be more accurate than I was. The pistol target was whipping around even more and It was 75 feet away.
    I guess I'll see what happens next time I go back. :evil:

2. If the wind was blowing that could have made a difference, and if you had not shot in a long time it may take a bit to get back in practice. If you were hitting the paper at 100 yds thats a good start.

Don't give up, don't get frustrated, remember its relaxing and fun to go shooting.

3. Give it some time. Start at 25, work your way back :).

4. It takes time to knock the rust off your skills before you become proficient again dude. No worries. Take your time and get comfortable before you shoot and you're good to go.

5. Yes, you suck at shooting - Just kidding :lol:

The wind probably had quite a bit to do with it.