Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Indoor ranges opened today in NJ so I got to take out the 995 TS. All went smoothly except I got a few failures to chamber with various types of ammo. Once the first round chambered, the whole mag fired perfectly. Had the issue with 2 different mags, but I expect they will break in.

Also the 995 DID NOT LIKE the Winchester Service Grade 115 grain Flat Nose. Lots of FTF and stovepipes. Got 6 rounds off from a 10 round mag and gave up on it. It fed just fine in my Taurus G3 (also my first time shooting it and it ate EVERYTHING without a hiccup) so it won't go to waste.

I shot
CCI Blazer 115 grain
Aguila 115 grain
Federal American Eagle 124 grain
Winchester service Grade 115 grain Flat Nose

I am a newb, but I was definitely hitting better when using 124 grain than 115. I was using the 124 grain Federal American Eagle. I also have some CCI Blazer 124 which I will take out next time.

Feels good to FINALLY shoot the darn thing! Now if I could only find more 9mm ammo to buy!!

·
Registered
10 Posts
I finally got to shoot mine purchased in May just last week! I like it! I only fired off about 70 rounds since it's hard to get replacement ammo right now and I want to save some if needed for other than plinking. Only one failure to feed early on. Shot only American Eagle 115 and 124 grain ammo since that's all I was able to score. I didn't get a chance to try the Federal 115 grain aluminum case because the range has a brass restriction.
Mine was shooting high when I first started to sight it in, and then even higher when I turned the rear sight elevation the wrong way, but I finally got it sighted in just right.

I also brought my old Marlin Glenfield model 60 22LR that I purchased over 45 years ago. I forgot how sweet it was to shoot that rifle, and accurate too! Those 22 LRs are fun plinkers, relatively quiet, with cheap and obtainable (today) ammo.