Fixing aiming problem

Discussion in 'General Hi-Point Discussion' started by sdbrit68, Oct 12, 2014.

1. sdbrit68

sdbrit68 Supporting Member

First time I tried my new c9, I mentioned it shoots high and left, I probably need to adjust the sights, then wondered why mt ole lady shots mid and a little right, other people shooting dead on.

I tried something new today, and maybe it will work for others, I removed my glasses, I have a distance nucisance prescription. I just cant see road signs until it is almost too late.

I immedaitely, and I mean the very next magazine, went to 1/4 or less, to around a 1/2 inch of dead center......with a few wingers here and there, I am a beginner.

The problem is, I don't know what to do, distance glasses make the target clearer, but blur the sights some for me, reading glasses, sights are great, target is a blur

2. From what I've read, the front sight should be clear, while the rear sight and target appear somewhat fuzzy. In your case, maybe it's better to see the sights clearly, as long as you can identify your target. I'm nearsighted and wear glasses, beside which, my accuracy is only adequate at 10-12 yards anyway.

3. jcwit

jcwit Member

This may help.
    http://www.bullseyepistol.com/chapter2.htm

The solution is partly in focusing the eye on the front sight during the delivery of the shot.

[​IMG]
    Wrong
    Figure 2-4b. Improper. Control of sight alignment is not precise. Distinct focus on target renders sight indistinct. Error incorporated here is the same as Figs 34a and is not as readily apparent.

[​IMG]
    Correct
    Figure 2-4c. Proper. Control alignment is precise. Focus limited to front sight only, renders the sights distinct and target indistinct and sight relationship can be controlled constantly.