Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,578 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now, I don't go around shilling products because that would just make me another irritating consumer Capitalist. BUT...

For all of you YouTube fans and Firefox browser users, this is *the* utility to get! I've been using it for about 2 years, and with the recent updates it just rocks! It's called Download Helper (pretty boring name I know), and what it does is simple, yet sweet.

You see, YouTube tries to lock down it's vids via a form of DRM (Digital Rights Management) that sets it so that you can only see it as a streaming vid that gets saved to your browser's temporary files folder. Every time you clear out your temp files, it's gone. And, it only plays in the web browser when you're at the source page of the vid. What Download Helper does is save the raw feed (FLV file) and, by using a 2 part program, then lets you convert that video into ANY file format! Windows Media, .avi, Quicktime, Zune... whatever! And, it runs in the background so all you have to do is load the webpage, and the little bit on your toolbar automacially figures out which files are ripe for the picking. The free version does all of this, but sticks an annoying little logo in the left hand corner. It's really not that bad...and it's free! But, if you actually pay for the registration code, you get the ability to rip any streaming music from any feed going into your computer to an .mp3 format!

I don't have the link...but if you search "Download Helper", you can easily find it. So, now you can save all those cool shooting vids you see before they get deleted or removed by the poster for unknown reasons :D

·
Registered
514 Posts
keepvid.com

mediaconverter.org

·
Registered
314 Posts
real player can do it as well, and find some simple program to convert the FLV to WMV etc.

·
You know who I am
9,304 Posts