Forum Acronyms

Discussion in 'General Hi-Point Discussion' started by bws, May 5, 2014.

1. bws

bws Member

OK, I'm a noob, but I hear people referring to a business (I assume) as "MOM". What does that mean and are there any other HP specific acronyms that us noobs should be aware of?

Thanks in advance!

b

2. Hermitt

Hermitt Hey! Get Off My Lawn! Member

MoM is not just for Hi-Points. It stands for Maker Or Manufacturer. ;)

3. tallbump

tallbump Supporting Member

Mom is Hi Point. The manufacturer/customer service. She takes care of us like a good mom should

Of course you have the names of the 2 larger pistols, JHP .45 and JCP .40. As far as we know, officially, they stand for......nothing. They are just letters LOL

The carbines end in TS...995TS, 4095TS, 4595TS.... the TS stands for Target Stock....just trust me on that and drop the subject....it's a sore one :D

That's pretty much it that I can think of that are Hi Point specific...there are a fwe older models that have letter names, but again, they are just names.

Firearms in general, you have
    FTF = failure to feed
    FTE = failure to eject

S/A is single action if you are talking revolvers and semi auto if you are talking, well, semi outo pistols

DA is double action.

You have IWB - In The Waistband holsters.

Uh, for ammo you have JHP - jacketed hollow points (defense ammo) and FMJ - full metal jacket (range ammo).

I am sure there are plenty of others, and someone else can help

4. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

Every hobby or occupation has it's own 'language'.
    Shooting sports or gun hobbyists in general are no different.
    Lots of websites that cover gun lingo, here's one of them:

http://www.shootfancy.com/firearms-lingo/

5. geekandwife

geekandwife Good ole Boy Member

Don't forget S.W.A.G.A - Sweaty Whitemen And Gentle Asians

6. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

Mmmm, that does have a certain charm to it......

7. mawguy