Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Okay, I thought it was about time to get this thread going as I have made some real progress and actually have something to write about. I realize that this is a Saturday Night Special topic, but it is a form of literal gun smithing, so I thought this would be the most appropriate forum to have this discussion in.

Just some background on me, I have an associates and a bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering Tech from Purdue, but I am not a professional engineer, a full fledged ME, I'm not in the firearms field, and my ideas and advice are mine alone. If you attempt to do anything like this DO NOT copy my processes and procedures unless you do thorough research and decide mine are best practices. I'm not going to include dimensions, etc, because I'm not sure what the limits are for that information (I know 1A versus ITAR and whatnot), I like these forums and do not want them running afoul of any changes in political winds from the glowies. End of disclaimer...

Evolution of my 3D Printed Raven frame as of 15 Apr 22:

So in school we used Solid Edge / Solid Works and I'll admit that I really grew to love those programs, they're both are pretty powerful in my opinion. I've had to relearn some things to use Fusion 360, because I'm to frugal to fork over enough scratch for those other programs. I needed a test bed to get the hang of Fusion, getting things sliced in Cura, and then printed on my Ender 3. It's ugly and basic, but I sorted out what I needed to do.
Azure Rectangle Wood Font Symbol

Next I sat down with a pair of dial calipers took dimensions directly from a P-25, jammed them into a sketch and did some basic extrusions and cuts. I was mainly looking to sort out the pockets for the Retainer (Part# 100-9) and the Sear Assembly (Part#100-10). The first frame lacked a trigger guard and is pictured below.