Gun maintenance question for engineers

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by Browning 9 Guy, Sep 14, 2014.

1. Browning 9 Guy

Browning 9 Guy Premium Supporter Member

I'm a lawyer, not an engineer, so know absolutely nothing about this particular gun mod question:

If I'm polishing the bolt on my 223 bolt action rifle, uncluding the lugs, using 2,000 grit, just to give the whole thing a nice mirror shine, will that 2,000 grit remove enough steel to actually change the dimensions? I.e., bolt is suddenly too narrow, lugs too small, bolt face no longer lines up with the cartridge?

This is probably too dumb a question to post, but any thoughts would be welcome. (Please don't hose me down.)

2. I would send it to a gunsmith to be jeweled.

3. Dagwood

Dagwood Supporting Member

I would 1) shoot it and 2) enjoy it.

4. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah
    If you buff it, using a soft tool, with some fine rouge or similar stuff, you won't remove any metal worth mentioning, but it will shine up fine.

5. greg_r

greg_r Lifetime Supporter

Use jeweler rouge. A good tool is actually a pencil eraser.

6. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

I'd use a polishing wheel rather then sandpaper.

7. moona11

moona11 King of you Monkeys Lifetime Supporter

Dremel and Flitz.

8. lklawson

lklawson Staff Member

Why do you want you to this? What are you trying to accomplish? Is this purely cosmetic or are you wanting to enhance function?

Peace favor your sword (mobile)

Last edited: Sep 15, 2014
  9. shepherd321

shepherd321 Supporting Member

You will devalue the gun don't do it, better to live with a scratch and touch it up. And any polishing to a bright finish will remove some metal however small.

10. The short answer is...maybe. It all depends on how much you sand, rub, polish.
    I would answer Kirks response before proceeding, then follow the other recommendations to use steel wool or the like and a polishing compound if you necessary.