help with my c9

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Pistols' started by HP-Texan, Jun 19, 2015.

1. HP-Texan

HP-Texan Member

I recently purchased a hi point c9 for a deal i couldn't pass up. The problem I'm having is I cannot get the pin out to take the slide off... I can tell it is a older model 9mm, I'm no expert not even close but the frame is not polymer (I don't think). The trigger had no holes and a bit different shape. It doesn't stay cocked back when reloading as my 380 and 40 s&w HP's do. With every gun I purchase I usually field strip the firearm and give it a thorough cleaning but when attempting to remove the pin it just wouldn't budge not at all.... I'm just looking for some insight on the older model HP's and some tips to help me out.

Thanks guys and gals!
    -Texan

Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  2. Dane

Dane Supporting Member

Florida
    Post some pictures for a better look see.

3. cicpup

cicpup Resident PITA Supporting Member

Vermont
    If it an alloy frame it's most likely a "Model C - 9mm" and not a "C-9". Most likely it hasn't been apart in quite some time and the pin has crusted in place. Soak it with some penetrating oil and don't be afraid to whack it with authority. Show it who's boss. Also be sure the pin's not catching on the edge of the slide.

4. HP-Texan

HP-Texan Member

Will post a few pics sometime this weekend when i get a little bit of free time.

Yea i was hitting it pretty hard but i was a bit scared to hit it really hard but i will try it again after i let the oil soak in.
    I checked the pin multiple times just to make sure it wasnt hitting the slide.s hell with all i did hit it with, it didnt budge at all.
    Do you know the year they changed it from the model c to the c9? and why? is there any differences other then the trigger and the alloy frame?