help with sighting in new c9

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by jimhens82, Apr 20, 2008.

1. jimhens82

jimhens82 Guest

he guys i need a hand in sighting in my new c9, i was shooting to the left and way too low, the grouping was good so i know it wasnt me, well i hope so anyways, i am new at this so any help with sighting in would be appreciated

2. When I sighted mine in, I used the bench rest and took my time with each shot, making sure I kept the gun as steady as possible. It is spot on now.

I also have the habit of jerking the gun before I shoot (although it is happening less and less) thus causing my shots to be low and to the left. Every trip I make to this range, I ask for a specific target that provides immediate feedback on your shot(s). Below is a pic:

This is the right-hand version
    [​IMG]

There is a left-hand version as well. This is the first target I set up. I then fire a full clip, slow fire, to see what's what with my technique/habits.

If your local range(s) do not carry these targets, you can get them at

http://www.letargets.com/index.aspx

Here is the page where they are located, to save you some clicks:

http://www.letargets.com/estylez_ps.aspx?searchmode=category&searchcatcontext=~1~1.2

They are called "Handgun Feedback Targets".

Hope this helps some.

Stay safe and have fun! 8)

3. My first suggestion would be to get someone else, if possible, to shoot the pistol and see if its you or the pistol. If the pistol hits in the same spot then its time to adjust the sights and use a different sight picture for your elevation.

There are things you could be doing that could cause your aim to be off.

Thanks for posting that .40cal, we posted at the same time and I was thinking of that target. :)

4. No problem, mister! It has been extremely helpful to me and has built some confidence in my shooting ability that I don't think I ever had with a handgun.