how crafty are you?

Discussion in 'Survival Zone' started by Hansj3, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Hansj3

Hansj3 Supporting Member

let me start off by saying I'm a mechanic by trade. It's hard to go home after a 10 hour shift of staring at cars to stare at another car. for the past 3 weeks the top of my radiator where the end cap seals to the radiator core has had a leak at the rubber o-ring. it will never blow the engine but it steams, and it is a point of pride for me. it annoys the hell out of me.but radiators are expensive and even though it was 30 degrees today by the time I got one shipped to me it would be 15 below. so as I was sitting at a stoplight watching my engine steam, a thought occurred to me:

in TV shows like The Walking Dead or zombie movies there is almost always a scene where after the group gets away the car breaks down it is a bunch of steam coming out of the engine and the group has to walk. now if it was a long term survival situation you could really need that car and a busted radiator seems like a really petty reason to not have that car. so as I was waiting for the light to turn green a thought popped in my head. with limited tools and supplies could you build a radiator.

I know how I'd do it but how would you guys?

it doesn't even have to be a zombie situation what if you were out in the sticks building a cabin and ramed a tree through your radiator?

2. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah
    Maintaining pressure could be a problem without good materials and construction...so I'm going low pressure.

Without pressure, you'd need a lot more water, so maybe a remote reservoir with long tubes to aid with cooling. The reservoir could be a few 5 gallon cans in the trunk, or strapped to the roof. If you had 100 feet of hose, you could just run the hose through a bath, and maybe not suck the water out of the tanks at all.