How many lumens should I look for in a tactical flashlight?

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by 47_MasoN_47, May 2, 2008.

1. 47_MasoN_47

47_MasoN_47 You know who I am Member

The title explains it all. I've been looking at this one. It's 42 lumens. Do you guys think that is enough? Have another light to recommend? I'm open to suggestions as usual.

2. Strangerous

Strangerous Member

Come on, I was about to ask the same question! My police friends were given surefires, unsure what model, but they gripe about buying batteries for them.

3. This sort of falls into a personal preference question for me, and I'm no expert. I did buy some lights lately and decided to buy, like guns, based on the reason.

If you look at prices for example of SureFires - the more $$, the more output. Yeah you get better / different cases but for the most part more $$ is more output. Battery life varies too, but same equation applies; more output needs more energy, means more $$ in batteries. I guess for me it comes down to where you want to spend your money and brand names, etc.

I have a few maglights for general lights around the house. I have a Scorpion that I really love. It's bright and falls in the camp of use it when you need it / tactical for me. Most sports stores (Bass Pro, Dicks') have their own brands of lights for not a lot of $$ too. I got a light for my 995 from Benny for about $25 I think, and it's plenty powerful too.

My input - figure out how much you want to spend. Figure out what you're gonna use it for. Then go shopping.

4. 47_MasoN_47

Hmm. I wish I could see how bright it is in person. I have a 13.5 lumen light I carry around and a 18 lumen light I use at home for my modding and stuff. I'm not really sure how 42 compares to that. I think I'm just gonna buy it anyway (I have a gift card for Amazon.com) and if I don't like it I can always find a use for a good flashlight.