i am a newbie so i'm sure this has been asked

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by kanderson586, Feb 27, 2008.

1. kanderson586

kanderson586 Guest

why doesn't hi-point make a higher cap mag since the desire is high but no else has succeded?

2. neothespian

neothespian Member

First off, welcome to the forum!!!

Now, as far as the lack of a high capacity magazine, Hi-Point has alot of reasons to consider not making one. First of which is the lack of a suitable aftermarket magazine that could efficiently feed more than 10 rounds into any of their weapons. Second, the cost of retooling for high capacity mags could begin to impact the bottom line of the company and thus increase the price point of their weapons in order to cover retooling, eliminating one of their major selling points.

Another reason is public opinion. When you make a carbine with 10 rounds, you're on par with an SKS but far below the "Evil" guns with high capacity magazines such as the AK-47, AR-15 and the like. While California dislikes magazine fed carbines, many Northern European nations and most US states still have them in great abundance. This makes for a large potential market to fill when the AK's and AR's aren't able to be sold, but their carbine can pass for a "pistol" in many bills.

There have been countless experiments with high capacity magazines, but even on the custom end, it's a difficult procedure to get correct. The 10 rounder has proven effective and cheap, and with a brand that is up and coming like High Point the last thing you want to do is risk that reliability by experimenting with an option that the greater consumer market has not highlighted as a factor in buying their arms.

3. Hey noob, welcome. But for asking the question and not using the search features you are:

[​IMG]

4. kanderson586

kanderson586 Guest