I'm a noob. Lol

Discussion in 'Gunsmith shop' started by shadowmerc777, Feb 18, 2015.

1. shadowmerc777

shadowmerc777 Member

Ok I know this is a stupid question. So I bought my first hi point and plan on going to the range soon to break it in. The problem is that I have never cleaned a pistol. I have the cleaning kit but it didn't come with any solvents or lubes. What would be the best stuff to use?

2. colthrash

colthrash Member

hoppes number 9, and some type of rem oil, rifle bore cleaner (rbc) or something along those lines. if you have not fired it yet, load the magazines and leave them loaded until you go to the range. you also might lock the slide all the way back with the safety lever and leave it that way until range time. which hipoint did you get by the way? google is your friend with hundreds of pages of help, but this is the best place for hipoint info...

3. moona11

moona11 King of you Monkeys Lifetime Supporter

You can make your own cleaner and gun oil. Eds red. Just don't use WD-40...

4. shadowmerc777

shadowmerc777 Member

I got the cf 380. I did some searching on google but didn't see anything specifically for the hi point.

5. planosteve

planosteve Lifetime Supporter

For lube on the pistols I like to use CLR as the lube and you can also use it to clean the bore but I use Hoppe's #9 for the bore and chamber cleaning. For the first time just clean the bore by using a solvent (Hoppe's) soaked patch and let it set for a couple minutes then run dry patches through it until most of the crud is gone. Repeat as necessary. With the slide back flip it upside down and put lube on the wear point of slide, a couple drops and then work the slide back and forth a few times. Wipe off any excess. Load up your mags fully and let them set a few days. Have fun.

6. colthrash

colthrash Member