inexpensive portable generator

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by herrmannek, Dec 16, 2007.

1. herrmannek

herrmannek Guest

I would like to buy one for emergency use... Biggest constraint is money 150$ is what I can spend most... My question is are those cheap little things worth anything?
    http://allegro.pl/search.php?string...=7&price_from=200&price_to=350&category=16696

I'm okey with the low power they can supply(only for: light, tv , radio, some weak power tools, sinkable pump). I'm curious if they can stand any prolonged use? Usually Whats their real constant output? Whats their service life? Are they easy to repair? I have no experience with generators at all and can't afford brand name product just jet... I hope you guys have some experience with those things... TIA

Oh I created this topic also here
    http://urbanwarrior.freeforums.org/viewtopic.php?p=1338#1338
    Just learned we have a new sister site dedicated to survival and else.. please follow the link, or if you don't like to make another account there reply here, I read both sites...

2. I hear those Honda generators are really good.

3. Since I can't speak Cheqoslavakian (sp) can some one tell me how to translate the page, I know it can be done, I just don't know how.

4. Ridge

Ridge Member

Have you tried searching for the same on ebay? looks like the same format...

5. herrmannek,

The best generators for emergency home use is one with a Honda engine. I know a lot of people with the Honda engine generators and they last for many years when properly maintained.

Most new small engine generators will suffice for short term emergency use, and rarely do people use them for more than a week at a time, except for people who use them in commercial business applications.

6. Ari

Ari Guest