Info about marlin 22lr.

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by SURVIVALBUD, Oct 29, 2015.

1. HOWDY YAW, today i had gone to pay on my layaway for my 4595.
    I had seen on the wall a 1964 marlin 39 century ltd 22lr lever action
    with a octagon 24" barrel in like new cond.
    They were selling it for $400.00

Is this price good, I know that I can get the price down..
    Is the marlin 39 good and shoots good??
    Let me know what you think about this marlin 39.. thanks
    it doesn't have a scope on it..

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 30, 2015
  2. FlashBang

FlashBang I Stand With Talon Lifetime Supporter

You sure it was a Model 39 Century LTD?
    That model was only made with a 20" octagon barrel and was only manufactured in 1970. It is pretty distinctive as it has a name plate in the butt.

Attached Files:

3. Browning 9 Guy

Browning 9 Guy Premium Supporter Member

Survival, I'm no expert by any means, but I checked Gunbroker just now. There are six Marlin 39's from various years selling from $551 to $1,895. The one selling for $1,895 dates from the 1920's or early '30's, according to its description. A 1964 model? It would seem to depend on collector demand for that year. Can anyone shed some light?

4. Browning 9 Guy

Browning 9 Guy Premium Supporter Member

Survival, if I may, I'd like to add that if you're new to Marlins and want an outstanding 22 rifle, just a great overall shooter, you might consider the 795 semiauto. My 795 feeds bulk 22 of any kind. You will need to disassemble and polish the feed ramp when new.

5. FlashBang

FlashBang I Stand With Talon Lifetime Supporter

Before anyone can give him a true value we need to know exactly what it is. ;)

There are numerous models of the Marlin 39, some made for 1 year only and others made for a lot of years. Once we get an exact model the value range can be determined.

6. ArmyScout

ArmyScout Supporting Member

IL