Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone direct me either to a previous thread or other, good website with instructions on how to zero in a new sight?

I have a basic red dot sight that i want to use as a replacement for the factory sights. I understand the fundamentals of how to install the sight, how you turn both knobs for windage & elevation, and that you have to pick a certain distance to use for calibration. but i just want to be clear on the step by step.

PLUS, I'M WONDERING: DO YOU NEED SOME SORT OF GUN REST TO HOLD/STABILIZE THE GUN IN ORDER TO ACCURATELY ZERO IN THE SIGHT? that's somethign that i haven't figured out yet. i'm imagining that you need one in order to cut down on human error and such. i'm a newbie shooter so i don't have total confidence in the consistency of my firing skills. i'm worried that the shots may be off NOT cause the sight's off but because i am.

thanks for help!

·
Registered
1,671 Posts
Go to Wal-Mart, drop $30 and buy a boresighter. Its a hell of a tool. I bought one to zero my scope. Was so happy and went and checked all my guns, all mu buddy's. Its worth the investment.

·
Registered
2,901 Posts
Go to Wal-Mart, drop $30 and buy a boresighter. Its a hell of a tool. I bought one to zero my scope. Was so happy and went and checked all my guns, all mu buddy's. Its worth the investment.
+1, I use the laser boresighter on all of my weapons with barrels long enough to use it. Major time/ammo saver.

·
Premium Member
201 Posts