Is it time to replace the M4?

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by nclpta, Apr 20, 2008.

1. Saw this article on yahoo, and found it very interesting..

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080420/ap_on_re_us/the_gun_wars

I'm an army veteran, and we use the M16, so I don't have any experience with the shorter version, M4. If there is a better weapon for our troops, then lets get it. IMO competition is always good for the market because you know if your product is inferior, then you can be replaced...

2. griff30

griff30 Member

The problem is the military makes exclusive contracts which allows the manufacture to sky rocket the cost. An M4 should be around $500 and it's a POS and has been from the beginning.
    What they need is the [​IMG]
    in stead of the $1,500 M4 which Colt make 800 a day of for the US military (thats $1,200,000 daily in taxes folks.) that JAMS more than any other firearm.
    Quoteing the article"As Colt pumps out 800 new M4s every day to meet U.S. and overseas demand, the company is remodeling its aging 270,000-square-foot facility in a hardscrabble section of Connecticut's capital city. New tooling and metal cutting machines have been installed as part of a $10 million plant improvement."
    And "At about $1,500 apiece, the M4 is overpriced, according to Coburn. It jams too often in sandy environments like Iraq, he adds, and requires far more maintenance than more durable carbines."

$1,200,000 daily

3. I'd happily pony up $1500 for a complete M4 (unfortunately, the 2nd Amendment is currently ignored) and THEN worry about affording the ammo!

[​IMG]

4. uncle jerky

uncle jerky Well-Known Member