jacket shavings or splinters

Discussion in 'Reloading Room' started by xtremeweather, Jan 7, 2016.

1. xtremeweather

xtremeweather Member

Looking for some advise or opinion on something I encountered last night. I'm relatively new to loading. have loaded a few 100 bullets so far, 9mm and 45 acp. Last night, I was getting some jacket shavings or splinters about 1 out of every 5 bullets both in the 9mm and 45... I do not remember running into this before. Using casings that have been shot 2 times now.. This will be the third load in them.. This normal? Suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Chris.

2. Fracman

Fracman Member

Are you belling out the mouth of the brass?

3. xtremeweather

xtremeweather Member

By (belling) you mean trimming or using the powder dye to open the mouth a little.. I'm using the dye to open the mouth.. The brass has not been trimmed..

4. Fracman

Fracman Member

Are you seating the bullet and crimping in the same step?

5. xtremeweather

xtremeweather Member

No separate steps. I am getting the shavings during seating the bullet.

6. lklawson

lklawson Staff Member

Are you using the same brand and manufacturer of bullets between the 9 & 45?

If so, perhaps the sizing is not micro-metrically consistent across all bullets. Might need to resize 'em.

But that's probably not it.

Peace favor your sword,
    Kirk

7. Fracman

Fracman Member

I would try to opening the mouth some more.

8. xtremeweather

xtremeweather Member

No different brands actually.. Want to try different brands, accuracy ect..

I will do that. Thanks for the information.

9. Fracman

Fracman Member

I use this on my rifle brass. I have not had to use it on my pistol brass. When I was loading my 45 colt I was seating and crimping at the same time I would get little lead rings I switched to seating the bullet and crimping process the little rings went away.

Attached Files:

10. rickm

rickm Member