Just bought ATI stock - any advice?

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Carbines' started by gearboxaz, Jan 17, 2010.

1. gearboxaz

gearboxaz Member

Just bought the ATI stock and buttpad for my new (had it a month) 995 "classic" (I guess it's the classic). I'm a gun newbie in general - any advice or warnings about the ATI stock or the "classic" in general?

2. Nope the ATI is a really good stock. Have you put it on yet? If not there is a tutorial floating around here somewhere. Might even be a video on youtube, I've never looked so I don't know. :welcome:

3. If I'm not mistaken, the ATI stock voids the HP warranty. Some others may be able to verify this, though.

4. gearboxaz

gearboxaz Member

Haven't put the stock on yet, I just ordered it this evening. I'm looking forward to the improved styling though - the styling on the old stock is, um, not the best. And the oversized aftermarket buttpad I got from Cabelas doesn't help it any, unfortunately.

As for voiding the warranty, I'll have to take the chance. I've probably run another $200 of ammo through the rifle already trying to get the scope sighted in (no luck so far). It still shoots a group the size of a dinner plate at 50 yards, so either I'm an exceptionally crappy shot (possible) or the rifle's just not shooting well (also possible). I'm hoping the stiffer ATI stock will at least help.

5. Maybe your scope's moving around. I've got a cheap scope on my 995TS and it's solid as a rock at 50 yards.

6. gearboxaz

gearboxaz Member

It's possible that it is the scope. I got the rifle, the scope and a soft-side carrying bag all at the same gun show, but with the scope installed the bag can't be closed all the way. I was thinking of pulling the standard Weaver rail and replacing it with something that rides lower and maybe longer so I can reposition the scope.