Just got my anniversary present!

Discussion in 'Welcome Aboard' started by wmwid, Jul 18, 2015.

1. wmwid

wmwid Member

And it is a Hi Point C9.

I am very new to guns. Started shooting on a .410 about a year and a half ago and bought my own 20 gauge about 6 months after that. I had not handled a pistol until today.

A few days ago my husband told me that he wanted to get me a pistol for our 1st anniversary. He had a Hi Point in mind, showed me what it was all about on the internet ... read the good, bad and ugly, and I decided that this would be a good first handgun for me. I will be getting my CCP in the near future, but this is for home protection first and foremost. We live out in the country, and you never know who or what may show up on the property. I also do a bit of traveling by myself with my dogs to go to dog events, and my husband doesn't usually come with me. So this is an added level of comfort for both of us.

So I purchased it on Tuesday, picked it up today, and went out and put 150 rounds through it today. Not a single hiccup. I don't have anything to compare it to, but I am very happy with my gift! I have a lot to learn and need to get more comfortable with it, but I know I will and am very excited to learn more and shoot more. I'm hyper safety conscious, which I know is certainly not a bad thing. I did not grow up around guns, so this is all still pretty new to me.

Just wanted to introduce myself. I am sure I will have a lot of questions.